broccoli love.

I’ve always been an avid vegetable eater. Unfortunately, during the winter months, my veggies disguise themselves as potato chips and layered poutines. Although winter is slowly coming to an end here in Toronto, the damage it caused to my waistline is far from over. I’m on a quest to shed those winter pounds by eating healthy so I’ve turned to my favourite recipe blog for inspiration: 101 Cookbooks. Each recipe post contains beautiful pictures that accompany a healthy and simple recipe. I scoured my fridge for a main ingredient (broccoli was the winner) and then carefully selected a recipe (Heidi Swanson has organized her recipes by ingredient or season, so it’s super easy navigating through her collection).


After much debate, I decided to make the Broccoli Pesto & Fusilli Pasta. I had to make some minor revisions, mostly because I was missing some ingredients.

Here is my revised version:

1 medium head of broccoli (about 3 cups), cut into very small florets ( I used two: one head for the pesto & one head to top the dish)

1/3 cup pine nuts

1/3 cup feta cheese

3 cloves garlic

1/3 cup extra-virgin olive oil

1/2 pound (8 ounces) dried whole wheat pasta

1/3  cup oily black olives (sliced)

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Salt the water generously and add the broccoli. Cook for twelve seconds (I cooked mine for a minute). Drain immediately and run cold water over broccoli. Transfer the broccoli to a bowl.

Reserve some broccoli florets, to toss into the pasta. Puree the remaining broccoli with the pine nuts, feta, garlic, and olive oil.

Cook the pasta according to the instructions on the box. Drain and transfer to bowl.

Stir in the reserved broccoli florets and broccoli pesto  into the pasta. Top with black olives.

Enjoy your high in vitamin C and vitamin K meal!

♠ ♠ ♠

comments

